Logo

Evinrude 2002 225 Bambouzald. NEED HELP

HainesHunter

I have a Evinrude OMC Bombardier 2002 225DiFicht.

I recently got the motor rebuilt from ground up due to reed plate getting sucked into motor GRRR.

After receiving the Engine back it has got me/mechanic bamboozled. It starts on cold starts every time, once EMM is at operating temp 105-110F, it only starts when it wants to or cools a bit, On average 4th to 11th time cranking Sometimes never. Once Started the engine will run like clockwork, but again switch it off and it won’t start again on first Go. When i take it out for a run for about 15 20 min I go right through rev range and all seems normal (no Codes) But When I turn it off, and try start it, it will show 3 of the 4 lights illuminated and stay on, at this point i don’t even have cranking (Mechanic calls this a hard code ) no codes on PC when checked. But if u leave it for a day the 3 light won’t appear and start first time.

Not including full rebuild we have changed,
starter solenoid, the 2 delay relays just behind that, crank angle sensor, brand new batteries, EMM, Plugs, we have bypassed kill switch,new capacitor, used another throttle control with key module at the outboard to rule out any loom related problems and main power isolator battery switch

Please help as there are no codes on computer and don’t know what to do next.

Kind Regards George Zairis

Bad EMM. Been all through this and argued to death right here. Search. Plenty of info on the "three light salute".

I personally had an engine in the shop doing the exact same thing. User named "aerobat" from Germany posted heavily on this.

Ummmm....just looked up to the top of page to see where I was, I see marineengine.......this was discussed over on Iboats, I think. Search both places.

Bad EMM. Been all through this and argued to death right here. Search. Plenty of info on the "three light salute".