Logo

Johnson 130hp 2000 BJ130VXSSS - Trim sense, battery charge, stalling from idle, tachometer-any help?

adammuncey

Hi all,

I am new to the boating scene and just got myself a 2000 Johnson oceanpro 130hp (BJ130VXSSS).

First and possibly most important issue - the engine idles fine on land but sounds a little 'slow' under water (guessing slight more load on exhaust?)
When changing into gear it often stalls, particularly into reverse - even when warm. Forward is ok when warm, but you have to be brisk at getting the throttle up.

Would idle adjust be the way to go with this -its currently all the way out - not even contacting pulley i.e lowest as possible. From a quick look the carbs look clean.

The other issues are electrical - The trim sense gauge and tachometer (rev gauge) doesn't seem to work. The battery terminals seem to vary - perhaps not regulated properly - I saw 15V at one point and 13.5 another so may be time for new regulator circuit but im pretty sure the trim sense is separate...

Can anyone suggest where I could get a wiring diagram -would this be part of the service manual or separate as part of Johnson's 'system check'?

Lastly, any tips on how to inspect a VRO oil system - lack of knowledge on this makes me nervous on relying upon it (although supposedly system check is wired up.....)

Thanks in advance!

Got alot of problems....

I think you may haave some misconceptions.

1. Idle. "currently all the way out....not contacting pulley" doesn't compute.
Go to shop.evinrude.com and navigate to your engine parts pages. On the cylinder and crankcase page locate ref # 81 and it's associated parts. That is the idle speed adjustment mechanism. You adjust it with the screw that is coming out the front end. That screw effective rotates the timer base, changing the idle timing, which changes the idle speed.