Logo

1987 Johnson 90hp problems

Copenhagen

I'm new to the world of boat motors. Having no prior experience or knowledge I've relied upon threads and information I can obtain to learn thus far. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

My reverse will not engaged when I attempt to shift it into gear, all that happens is that it will immediately start making a loud clicking sound. Shifts fine into forward. After researching and watching videos I feel like it's potentially the clutch dog, reverse gear, or rod that runs down to the lower unit to actually engage the gears.

Secondly, when idling my motor doesn't seem to like it too much. It will periodically make a thud sound and you can certainly feel it when it happens. It will also die on its own after I've ran up the lake to where I want to start fishing once I put it into neutral. It doesn't die instantly but within 5-6 seconds it will. I don't know if these two are potentially attached to the same problem but I've seen where faulty fuel pumps can cause very similar symptoms.

Lastly, sometimes when I push it to full throttle it will only jump up to 2900 rpms when it usually jumps up to about 3800 rpms and will not plain out at all. After I just idle around or shut it off and try again later it will act normally. Also, while running wide open which is usually at 40mph it will all of a sudden die down and decrease to approximately 30 mph. I honestly haven't the slightest clue as to what would be causing this.

ive read a number of posts on here and feel that quite a few people on here seem to be quite knowledgable and I really hope someone can shed some light on these problems, thanks!

Start with the basics if for no other reason to eliminate problem areas.................

Remove all spark plugs, take a compresssion check. What are the psi reading of all cylinders?