Logo

2002 bf225 maintenance inquiry

So as some of you may know i have twin bf225's year 2002. Im getting ready to do some more basic maintenance. I have had a random overheat alarm go off while wot or fast cruise and the boat porpoising a bit. Long story short i want to know if anyone has a spare thermostat and can actually give me the number printed on the tstat not the box or package from honda. I know it should have a serial number imprinted or engraved on the metal itself. I would like to cross match it with a local auto store and see if we can find a suitable replacement since they are pretty much a yearly or every two year maintenance item. I have 326 hrs on these engines and would like to know as much as possible on them.

Why are thermostats an every year or two replacement? Im new to Hondas but my Yamaha had 1 replaced in 1000 hours over 5 years. How did you determine they need to be replaced?

If you want to do your own maintenance and diagnostics, invest in the Official Helm Shop Manual for the Honda 225. It's about $116 on eBay or Amazon. Chapter 3 of that manual gives the complete maintenance procedures, step by step.

Have you tried to pull codes from your MIL light by shunting the service connector? That procedure has been described many times on this forum. Otherwise send me an e-mail at [email protected], and I will attach the procedure and return the e-mail.

BTW, I think a misfiring spark plug or failing coil may set off the alarm at high speed, as will a failing HO2 sensor. When is the last time you changed the plugs? Use ONLY NGK IZFR6F11 iridium tipped plugs.

If you want to do your own maintenance and diagnostics, invest in the Official Helm Shop Manual for the Honda 225. It's about $116 on eBay or Amazon. Chapter 3 of that manual gives the complete maintenance procedures, step by step.