Logo

2006 4.3 timing

mcfam

I have a 2006 4.3l serial #0w626880 and I have the online service manual and a seloc. I cant find the timing settings or steps on how to do it in either book. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

10 BTDC from manual 25
UntitledTi_zps507c7037.jpg

got another problem I need help installing a new distributor. how do I set it to #1tdc and then match the distributor when I slide it in.

Well.you just change the parameters, what type of dist did you buy? Why do you think you needed a different dist?

serial number shows this usually used with TB-V systems
861252T 1

ICM MODULE, Ignition Control Module

As I am sure you can tell I am new to this. I put the #1 cylinder to tdc( harmonic balancer mark is at o degrees) and then slid the distributor in and it only fits one way, is that correct? Then I will set the cap on so that the #1 plug wire is making contact with the rotor cap. Then I wll fire the motor up and set the timing using the instruction above to 10 BTDC.

you need to be TDC compression stroke, the timing mark will line up on compression and exaust stroke.You can stick your finger or a compression gauge in #1 hole and turn motor feeling for a puff of air to signal the compression stroke. The dist can be installed in any position that locates on the oil pump drive coupling.The oil pump shaft can be turned with a large blade screwdriver to match the dist position. most mechanics will locate the rotor pointing to #1 position of the cap and align the oil pump with a screwdriver untill the dist drops in and goes flush. It must not be sticking up. Once you have it close you simply turn the dist a bit to set the timing. Timing and idle speed can only be done in "base timing mode"
simply changing a dist without the matching ign module may not even work.

Last edited: