Logo

318 Chrysler Motor Change

Ward

I own a 24' Uniflite "Salty Pup" with a 318 Chrysler inboard abd Borg Warner transmission. I am thinking of changing to a fuel injected V-6. My goal is to add more power at a lower RPM and improve fuel economy. Has anyone had experience with this application?

Hello Ward,

I also own a Uniflite. 27' Cruiser with twin 318's. I live in Western Washington but my boat is in SE Alaska. I know several people up their that have inboards with fuel injection. The only issue besides the cost of the changeover is the salt air degrades electronics. Recently I spoke with a local fireman in Sitka and he has twin mercs fuel injected that are computer controlled. He told me if he had to do it again he would stay carbureted. The salt air is giving him fits with his computer. I have no personal experience with what you're asking but if you decide to get ride of your engines/trannys let me know. It looks like we live in the same State. Take Care

Russ

I own a 24' Uniflite "Salty Pup" with a 318 Chrysler inboard abd Borg Warner transmission. I am thinking of changing to a fuel injected V-6. My goal is to add more power at a lower RPM and improve fuel economy. Has anyone had experience with this application?

Ayuh,.... A 4.3l fuel injected does 'bout 225 hp,.... 'bout the same as a 318,...

No way yer gonna get More horsepower, at lower rpms,....
'n the fuel burn won't be much lower, as it takes some many gallons of gas to move a hull through the water, at whatever speed ya choose,....
Regardless the motor, or it's induction,...