Logo

OMC 5.0 died while running @ 2800rpm

Motor boatin'

First off...thank you for any help you may provide. I've searched this forum front to back so I know there is a wealth of knowledge on this board.

second...I am a newbie. Not just on this site but to boating. I'm trying to learn but it's a process. I'm fairly handy but not real mechanically inclined, yet. I don't know very much but am eager to learn.

Yesterday I took my wife and daughter out on the boat. We drove out onto Lake MI, dropped anchor and relaxed for about an hour. My daughter is 18 months so her patience was wearing and we decided to head back. We entered the channel heading back to the launch and when I left the no wake zone I sped up. I was running about 2800rpm and the engine stopped. I tried to restart the engine and it would make a click sound but would not turn over. Instead of trying to pretend I could fix it I flagged down a passing boater and got a tow back to the launch.

I mi trailered the boat all while thinking $$$$$$. I got back to the house and thought I would turn the key to see what happens. I couldn't create the fake lake so I didn't want to run it just see if it turns over. IT DOES!

Im on vacation so I'm headed to the store now to buy a few things to start diagnosing.

I have read a few threads and it sounds like it could have been a bad temp sensor.

Full disclosure: I changed the lower unit oil the day before. I noticed a higher pitched whining sound when outdrive is in forward that I don't remember hearing before. Probably common but wanted to disclose it in case it's relevant.

Thanks again for your expertise and advice!!

Last edited:
There is a certain procedure to be followed to add, or change gear oil on an OMC drive. there's a dipstick at the top, & 2 other places to check. A factory manual would help

I have read a few threads and it sounds like it could have been a bad temp sensor.
I don't know what threads you were reading but it sure isn't that.