Logo

40 HP VRO power issues

Ed Brice

If you're reading this for a second time I apologize. I posted a similar post yesterday but I don't know where it went.

I have a 40 HP Evinrude VRO (1990) that had the oil side bypassed when I purchased it. I use a 50:1 mix. It never really ran well from day one was always tough to start. The biggest problem was that I could never keep it running in low speed.

I rebuilt the carbs, replaced the spark plugs and in line fuel filter and gas. I set the throttle linkage and carbs up according to the manual. I adjusted the low speed needle valves as best I could by ear since I have no tach. I didn't mess with the timing - sine I have no experience. The results were very good at first. It started every time right away and I was able to run it at low rpms and high rpms without issues but after a few days on the water, it would bog down when trying to accelerate from low speed. It would then speed up and slow down repeatedly until I backed off the throttle. If I periodically pumped the fuel line bulb at full throttle it would run great. I still have no trouble at slow speed or starting it.

Since then I've put ty wraps on all fuel lines and the VRO vacuum line. I also cleaned the fuel suction line filter/screen. No changes.

I've read a number of posts and have more questions now than when I started. I really want to open up the VRO pump to see if there's an issue internally but the manual said it can't be rebuilt but I read in a post that rebuild kits are available. (The manual covers a variety of Envinrude motors and years as well as mine) ???
I also read on another post when an individual was having issues similar to mine and it was recommend that he back off the low speed needle valves in 1/8 turn increments. I'm going to try this but I'm curious why this would help a high speed issue.