Logo

evinrude has a broken piston

coolbri70

model 85995R, last time out my motor lost power and wouldn't idle, after discovering a dead cylinder and a water drip from the exhaust cover, I removed the cover and spotted damage when I looked in the ports, so I pulled the head and now I need to replace the piston, I wont be able to order a service manual for a couple weeks so am trying to pull the powerhead and not sure where to start. can I pull it on the transom or does it have to be removed from the boat? I am an auto mechanic so I'm not totally clueless but this is different and could use some direction till I can get my manual

Attachments

• 015.jpg
    015.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 101
  • 021.jpg
    021.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 107
Last edited:
I have removed the plastic cover, and want to know if the exhaust housing adapter comes off with the powerhead or does the power head come off the adapter, is this piece similar to the bell housing on a car motor?http://youtu.be/4AchZyYCcHs

Last edited:
ok, so after searching threads, I understand I need to remove the 6 long bolts that go up through the exhaust housing adapter, the 2 nuts under the back, the 4 bolt up front, and the pin from the shift rod. am I missing anything?

the cylinders look good, still have some crosshatching. I was thinking of replacing the piston, and re ringing the other 3, and replacing all the gaskets. not sure why it broke.

i got everything except one of the long bolts the head broke off and the one next to it came out bent, I was able to lift it a little but I think the broken bolt is holding it some so I will hook the hoist to the lift ring, put a bit of pressure on it and tap the broken bolt with a drift and hammer, hope it comes off

stayed late at work, cleaned the ring grooves, then used the parts washer, maybe get more tomorrow

Attachments

• 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    53 KB · Views: 101
  • 004.jpg
    004.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 96
  • 005.jpg
    005.jpg
    61.5 KB · Views: 98