Logo

289 chat...

bazza57

Hi, I'm new to fords and this forum so please bear with me.
I own an elderly boat with a 289 V8 powering a Volve stern drive.
The fuel pump is the original car type and I'd like to improve the safety by installing a marine style pump but I don't know what to ask for or from whom.
My research has found that Mercruiser and maybe others used the small block Fords at some stage so I imagine I could buy one of these pumps and fit it...is there a more economical option than buying a big name brand?

Regards Barry

Barry, I'm not certain if Volvo Penta used the 289 V-8.
The 5.0 and 5.8 were very common for several years.
Take a look at what Michiganmotors has to offer.

http://www.michiganmotorz.com/mechanical-fuel-pump-ford-p-1213.html

Here's another one.

http://bpi.ebasicpower.com/pc/CARM60389/ALL4C

If this is a 289, I would double check the interchangeability between the 5.0 and 5.8 and 289.
These are listed as fitting the 5.0 and 5.8...... no mention of the 289.

Barry.... an unsolicited word of advice for you.

The shaft that joins the engine drive coupler to the Volvo Penta transmission universal shaft, is a PDS.
PDS = primary drive shaft.

The Ford engine flywheel covers were typically fit with a single bearing PDS.
If you were to lose this bearing, very expensive damage may occur.

Point being made........ pull the PDS and replace this bearing before you have a failure!

Last edited:
Thanks for that Rick...off the top of my head, is the 5.0 the 302 and the 5.8 the 351?
Been thinking of taking out the engine anyway as the oil pan is very rusty and I don't want to be over the horizon oneday and have it rust through, dumping all the oil into the bilge.