Logo

Mercury Marine Force 25 hp Outboard

NorfolknGood

Hi chaps

A complete newbie here just bought my 1st outboads 1 is a Force 25HP tother is a Mariner 3.5hp. The Force apparently knocks when running and the previous owner thinks it may be big ends worn. I have not been over to pick the engines up yet which are sitting on the back of a 16' day boat I also bought.

My question is does the prognosis sound correct are the parts readily available in the UK and is it a big job to do? I assume I will be needing a gasket set, bearings.............. are they OEM Force parts or available from any bearing stockist?

Attachments

• 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    45.3 KB · Views: 558
The forec 25 is the Mercury motor and depending on year its either a chrome bore or Mercosil block. The chrome bore block if damaged is non repairable except by sleeving which costs more than a replacement block. The Mercosil is a boreable block but needs diamond honing to finish size and only large shops usually carry these type of tools. The bearings on crank and wristpin are needles and will not knock like a babbitt bearing. If a bearing did fail the crank and block will be damaged.

If a bearing did fail the crank and block will be damaged.

Thanks for that faztbullet, I picked it up today and have had a quick play. No provision for cooling it so I tried starting it and ran for literally 1 second just to prove it will run. Not long enough to hear this knocking I have been told about but as soon as I get a proper fuel feed (rather than a quick squirt down the carb) and a tub of water to sit it in I can run it up proper and maybe take a vid and post here for your ears and opinion.

It's a 1998 3 cylinder model 2 stroke (you probably already know all that) with the serial No. OE301261