Logo

How to adjust the head valves - Volvo penta chevy 350 V-8 5.7 GL

Alce Deal

Hello Every one. Am in the process of rebuilding an engine that got a blown gasket(s) due to engine overheating. Got the heads back from machining, installed new gaskets and heads, push rods etc. With the engine in no. 1 firing position I adjusted intake 1,2,5,7 and Exhaust 1,3,4,8. Rotated the crankshaft one turn and adjusted I-3,4,6,8 and E-2,5,6,7; I did everything according to the book, 1/2 turn more after lash was removed... once I was done adjusting all valves I finger tested the initial set of valves I adjusted and most of them where loose... Am I doing something wrong? should I re-adjust again and again? Please help me, I don't want to take a chance with this engine and mess it up... Thanks every one. P.S (this is my second project and is lots of fun working in this engines but am not a mechanic by trade)

Alce, you use what's refereed to as the "2 stop" procedure. The 2 stop will work, but I'd never recommend it.
TDC comes around twice per every two crankshaft revolutions. Once at the top of the compression stroke, and once again at the top of the exhaust stroke.
If you're not at TDC C/S (compression stroke) when you begin this procedure, your adjustment will not work.

I'd recommend the 8 stop procedure, of which is very similar, but involves beginning with #1 cylinder TDC C/S, and moves right down the engine firing order 7 more times.
With the 8 stop, you will be adjusting the cam followers (aka lifter or tappet) 2 at a time ONLY.... both intake and exhaust for that cylinder ONLY.

If this is a rebuilt engine (new pistons, rings, bearings, camshaft, cam followers, etc) it's best to make this initial cam follower adjustment prior to the intake manifold being installed, and prior to any oil system priming.

This will allow us to see the follower plunger push rod cup ..............(shown here)
150px-Schubeck_hydraulic_lifter_made_for_zero_lashing.jpg