Logo

Farm Fresh '83 M440

Sawdust

First post here...looking for any advice you guys can offer. I recently purchased a '83 Mastercraft Stars & Stripes with a Chrysler M440 engine with gear reduction. The boat has been in storage for the last fifteen years and is a real gem, including the engine. All I know for sure at this point is that it has about 1100 hours on it and it's not ceised. Now I'm no expert mechanic... I probably know enough to be dangerous, so before I start working on bringing this thing back to life I thought I'd come here and see if any of you could offer some advice to point me in the right direction. I should also mention, the previous owner thought it needed some valve work as it would burn a little oil at start up.

Attachments

• 014.jpg
    014.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 80
  • 017.jpg
    017.jpg
    49.7 KB · Views: 64
First post here...looking for any advice you guys can offer. I recently purchased a '83 Mastercraft Stars & Stripes with a Chrysler M440 engine with gear reduction. The boat has been in storage for the last fifteen years and is a real gem, including the engine. All I know for sure at this point is that it has about 1100 hours on it and it's not ceised. Now I'm no expert mechanic... I probably know enough to be dangerous, so before I start working on bringing this thing back to life I thought I'd come here and see if any of you could offer some advice to point me in the right direction. I should also mention, the previous owner thought it needed some valve work as it would burn a little oil at start up.

Ayuh,..... Check all the fluid levels, pull the coil wire, 'n roll it over on the starter for a few bursts to pump oil through the block,...
Put the coil wire back on, add gas, 'n Light 'er off,...

Once I heard it run, then I'd be doin' a full diagnostic tune up on it,.....

Blue smoke on start up is usually valve guides,...