Logo

318 wont stay running

Drfeno

Hello, I have a 1981 silverton 31c with twin 318's. I'm refitting the entire boat, and I'm trying to get the motors running again(they haven't run since 2009) The Starbord motor starts and runs fine, but when I just tried to start the port motor, it fires, but when I let go of the ignition key, it dies. I'm pretty handy, but I'm not an expert in engine electrical. My friend said to check the coil wires. On the motor that runs, with the key on, the positive coil terminal has about 5V with respect to ground. the motor that won't stay running has 0 volts on the positive terminal (with the key on). I tried swapping starter solenoids with the one from the running motor, which is where the positive coil wire goes. That did not help. Is anyone familiar enough with this to give a suggestion on what component or connection to check or a test I can do. I know this is a little vague, but any suggestion would give me a place to start.

Thanks

Swap ballast resistors and see what happens. or provide 12V via a jumper to the + of the coil to see if it stays running.

will

Since the engines haven't been run in 4 years check all the electrical connections for corrosion, also check the ignition switch itself. When this happened to me it was the breaker to the ignition switch, a simple reset, if you have one.