Logo

Working on Chrysler 55 HP Outboard

powerwagon78

I'm working on my mother in law's chrysler 55 hp motor (guide says 1968-69) that is on a pontoon boat she got, and I was reading through this post. The other boat motors I have had were all tiller style, so I'm a little new to one like this, and just wondered if I'm not trying to start it wrong. I know I'm getting fuel to the carb, and I am working the choke manually, because I don't think it's working by pushing the key in like you are supposed to. Every now and then it will fire once or twice but won't actually run. The spark plugs have gas/oil on them, so I know that part is good. I have the motor in a trash can full of water, and am noticing there is actually some gas in the water now, so I wonder if the float ain't stuck open, but I figured it would at least try to run better than it is. The fuel bulb is holding good pressure also, so maybe the float ain't stuck?? I found the button on my controls to pull out and tried doing that to get it started, and it sputtered a few times but won't run. I was having someone else crank on while I was working the choke and the throttle by hand also, but can't get it to start, and am not sure what might be wrong...also, in another thread, I seen someone got a manual for this boat motor and was wondering where they got it downloaded from so I can get one too....thanks in advance!

Jeremy

First,do a compression test and then a spark test. The gas in the tank O water is normal. The carb's air screw should be set at 1 turn out for inital adjustment. Make sure the gas is fresh? There isin't any water in the tank? A quick shot of starting fluid might help. Don't use much as it strips the oil from the cylinders.