Logo

'61 Lark III Loads up/ floods at WOT

bdfwinn

Hi folks, newbie here. I am a pastor in Richmond VA andrecently a church member gave me a 1961 Chieftain with a Lark III 40hp on it.The boat was always kept under a shed and looks pretty cool. He gave the boataway because it had stopped running. I replaced all the fuel lines and rebuiltthe carb (I used to build small block chevys and have rebuilt numerous carbsincluding small engine and one 9.5 Johnson carb) So my frustration is thatthere is no way to externally adjust the fast idle valve and the engine runsokay at about 80% power for around 30 seconds and then the carb loads up andfuel spills out of the intake screen. Then I have about 1/2 throttle until theexcess fuel is burned and then we are good to go for another 30 seconds or so.Do I need a fast idle adjustment or is the new float and needle assemblymalfunctioning or in need of adjustment. If so where do I find thosespecifications.
more info: spark isstrong. Plugs are both fouled. Fuel pump seems okay (fuel bulb holds pressure)Idles okay but a little rough. Slow speed screw set at 1 1/2 turns out fromseated.
With the spark plugsout of the motor I can rotate the flywheel by hand fairly easily and I noticethat there is no movement on the bottom compression relief valve. Is thatnormal? The top one has about .030 gap or better.
Your kind help isappreciated.
Bill

The compression relief only works when using the manual / recoil starter.----------Plugs will foul if thermostat is removed and motor runs cold.

Sorry just to the left of the follower wheel is the pointer to adjust the sync between throttle opening and timing advance. I have a 61 lark III 40hp and put the float bowl off my old 57 35hp it has the high speed needle but not really necessary as long as you cleaned the high speed jet good it should be just fine.