Logo

Volvo MD1 won't run under load.

opolily

Yes, it's a 42 year old engine! I'm a sailor not a mechanic. My son-in-law tried to help me out by cleaning out the cooling water passages, testing the thermostat, repairing and remounting the thermostat housing - all because I was convinced that it was overheating. I started the engine and ran it at varying throttle positions in neutral for about 15 minutes. So it's not overheating.:eek:
Yesterday, I went out for a sail and when the wind died I started the engine to go back to my mooring. As soon as I put it into gear I could hear the rpms begin to slow. I advanced the throttle but within 3 minutes it died. I sailed (very slowly) for a few minutes, restarted the engine but it quit again within a minute or so. Tiptoed up to the mooring eventually.
We have the original user manual, service manual and parts catalog that came with the boat & engine.
Where do I start to diagnose the problem(s)? :confused:
Thanks in advance for looking at my post and considering it.
Maureen

Thank you Glen. I will do that tomorrow.
I've been reviewing everything I've done since the engine last ran well. I winterized it in the Fall of 2011 as I usually did, removing as much fuel from the system as I could. The 5 gal. cylindrical tank is mounted high under the aft deck with a shutoff as it exits the tank. From there it went to a CAV twin simple sedimenter/water separator unit and from there to the Volvo fuel filter and then to the fuel injector pump. That twin setup is essentially 2 sedimenters in series on one head. The fuel plumbing lines are all copper. In the spring of 2012 I found that one of the glass bowls on the sedimenter unit had cracked and would no longer hold fuel. No replacements to be found anywhere! I chose not to bypass the broken one because I didn't know how to make the connections!