Logo

40 HP Mariner Question

Schiada

Hello newbie here. I purchased a boat with a 40hp oil injected Mariner. The serial states it's a 40EO. Not sure if it is a Mercury or Yamaha so this post may be in the wrong section. I believe the year of the motor is a 1986 since I have the original manual.
I have some questions. First off the lower cylinder seems to have low compression. I haven't had a compression test but you can feel it isn't as healthy as the one on the top. Are these motors worth rebuilding? It's missing the starter and the oil injection is out of it so it's being ran on a mixed fuel/oil. Any leads on parts?
Thanks ahead :)

It's up to you, what it's worth. I fixed one up. I still couldn't tell you if it was worth it, or not. I am happy with it. It's probably made by Yamaha. If so, the parts are expensive and hard to find. If it does have low compression (it needs to be checked), motors that age are prone to corrosion and pitting: making it a challenge to get gaskets to seal. The oil injection was probably disconnected in favor of, the more reliable, mixing. Who knows; it might be fun!

If it's a Yamaha, they run great and last a long time. Worth more investigation.

Got a serial number?

Jeff

If you are mechanically inclined, a total rebuild on a twin cylinder can run you maybe 800'ish bucks (if you can get parts) - that's pistons, rings, bearings, carb kit(s), gaskets, waterpump kit etc.

At the end you have a "like new" motor if done right and complete.

A new 40 run 7 to 8 X that cost.

Now, if this is a 1986 Yamaha built Mariner (there was no 1986 40 horse "Merc", so if the year is correct, it's a Yami/Mariner) then you would have a hard time finding parts if a rebuild is needed. Not even the gaskets are still stocked. And if that's the case you could at least double or triple the cost to rebuild if you could find parts at all.