Logo

my 85 hp runs but won't go full speed

mulishaboat

i can run it with a fake-a-lake and it runs at high rpms, but out on the water it starts and runs but not at full speed. i wanted to know if the coils could be bad or is it a carbs/gas issue,any info/tips would be great on what i need to check or do.

NO load always runs great!! Try a compression/spark test. Then check the hoses for soft mushy.Any inline connectors can be bad and suck air. Check the fuel pumps diaphram.Clean the carbs.Check the tank vent line.Do that and post the results.

sorry for the interuption,but my 1987 50 hp force does the same thing.Just had two new ignition coils put in so I guess I will check the pump and gas lines and clean the carb.What do you mean by tank vent line jerry?Sorry i am a newbie and probably should have started my own topic but where i am having same prob thought i could use the advice given to you mulishaboat

Thank you Jerryjerry05 I'll try that and let you know the outcome. No prob Country69 im a newbie as well, the boat i have was giving to me and somewhat new to the 3 carb outboard world. I hope the info jerryjerry05 gave me can help you to.
i'll post results soon

Thank you Jerryjerry05 I'll try that and let you know the outcome. No prob Country69 im a newbie as well, the boat i have was giving to me and i'm somewhat new to the 3 carb outboard world. I hope the info jerryjerry05 gave me can help you to.
i'll post results soon

Yes always start your own thread. Some guys won't see your thread if you tack it on anothers?Add as much info as possible.Fill out the profile.Location? You might be close to someone who can help??Built in tanks have a line for escaping air so the tank doesn't swell and crack. If your running off a 6 gal carry on your vent is in the cap on older tanks. I understand they stopped putting in the vents on new tanks.Tey say just open the cap a bit to vent?????