Logo

1964 Evinrude Sportwin 9.5 will not reach W.O.T.

CarMech1969

Regular Contributor
Hello fellow mariners,

My Sportwin 9.5 (Model# 9422R) doesn't seem to reach maximum RPM. It revs great in Neutral, but when in gear and under load on the lake, it seems like it should have much more. I have heard clips of the same motor under way on YouTube, and the RPM sounds much higher.
I've attempted to clean the carb with a can of carb cleaner, cleaned out the fuel filter screen in the glass bowl. No appreciable change.
It's running on both cylinders, but it seems like one cylinder is getting more fuel than the other, as one plug appears 'washed', like as if too much fuel is dumping in there. The other plug has a typical light grey colour on the firing end.
The motor starts very easily (one pull) and runs great at lower throttle openings.
I'm thinking that I have carb problems, but any feedback from experienced marine mechanics would be greatly appreciated.
I am an auto mechanic by trade, but have very little experience with small motors, so I'd like to be educated before I start tearing into anything.
Thanks for reading, and have a great day!!

Regards,
Steven A

It is very common for those to run on one cylinder--This is usually caused by spark from one coil jumping to ground.---One test you can do is to set up a gap of 5/16" and see what happens to the spark.

The carb is always the first place to check on these little motors. A complete tear down of it is the only way to properly clean it. Just spraying carb cleaner with it assembled will not work, usually. Make sure all you hose fittings are tight and the ball pumps up nice and tight. The ignition would be the second place I would look as it is more complicated to diagnose.

It is very common for those to run on one cylinder--.
Are you suspecting this because of the one spark plug appearing washed?
I will try the spark test and see what happens.
If OK, what then?
Should I throw a carb kit at it?