Logo

800 Stringer - No reverse

Hermione

I think this my first post here, but have been a bit of lurker lately and you guys are terrific.
I'm hoping you can help with my 1977 Century 20' bowrider with 190 HP OMC 800 Stringer.
Put it in the water for the first this spring and the engine ran perfectly.
It would engage in forward but not reverse.
The revs would be controlled normally (ie: more reverse, more rpms as usual) just no engage into gear.

I attached some pics to help... maybe it will.

Please type slowly cause I'm no mechanic. I can tighten things, spot a loose wire, take stuff apart but only til I get scared I can't put it back together. That's usually pretty early on.

Now for the sympathy part. This beautiful boat is on a DO NOT RESUSCITATE order. If I can't fix it myself, I can't put any more money into the boat, no money to buy new one, you see where this is going...

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• Shifter4.JPG
    Shifter4.JPG
    29.6 KB · Views: 37
  • Shifter1.JPG
    Shifter1.JPG
    24 KB · Views: 33
  • Shifter2.JPG
    Shifter2.JPG
    19.9 KB · Views: 41
  • Shifter3.JPG
    Shifter3.JPG
    26.7 KB · Views: 33
I do not believe that is an " 800 " model.----It is the old electric shift.----------Find the wires going into the drive at the engine.----Check ohms on green to ground and blue to ground.----If both are the same then apply 12 volts to blue and see if it shifts then.----------If it does not shift you may have a broken tab on the reverse spring.

This is my outdrive. You say it is not an 800?
I was told by the marina it was. ??

OR Do you mean that the controls are not original?

Attachments

• outdrive.JPG
    outdrive.JPG
    33.4 KB · Views: 63
If I do have a broken tab on the reverse spring, should I use the boat with forward only? Not ideal, but I'm supposed to take the boat Camping this weekend. Maybe two miles down the lake to the site.