Logo

Shift Rod/Connector Linkage

CrappieDude

Contributing Member
Being a shadetree mechanic I did a seal overhaul, impeller housing kit and clutch dog install and finally got it all back together on my 25hp Johnson 25RL79R. I stumbled a few times and had to ask for help from here on the forum a few times and I appreciate you guys getting back to me. I did/do however have an issue......When I begun the removal of the LU, I took both bolts out of the shift rod connector (top and bottom) and now when I got it put back together I'm having a terrible time getting the linkage right.....most times it will shift fine, but there are times it will not go all the way into either forward or reverse. I can put a little pressure on the prop and it will go all the way either into forward or reverse. I've dealt with this issue for the past 4 hrs and I'm ready to unbolt the motor from the boat and sling it over the hill or in a hole. I'm very frustrated at the moment...LOL Any suggestions on where to start getting this #^@*& motor back to shifting correctly? Thanks!!!!

Notches in the shift rod must be lined up with the holes in the connecter BEFORE the bolts are installed.----------------Then when shifting / checking the set-up the prop must be turned by hand !

Thanks guys! I'll try that tomorrow. I know neither notch was in position at the same time. I had to quit or something was gonna get tore up...LOL

"most times it will shift fine, but there are times it will not go all the way into either forward or reverse. I can put a little pressure on the prop and it will go all the way either into forward or reverse."

Are you trying to shift the gear case into gear without the motor running or spinning the prop shaft? If so that may be the problem. The clutch dog cogs must mesh with the forward or reverse gear cogs to fully seat into gear.