Logo

Need chrysler 440 marine long block or short block

captain_ed

Regular Contributor
My port standard rotation engine has a groove in the cylinder #7. It is a single groove about 1/16" deep that stops about 2" short of the top of the cylinder wall. I pressure tested at 100 PSI before I pulled the heads today. I don't know if it can be rebuilt or not.

Now I am thinking maybe I should go for a long block or short block. I think that the heads can be saved, but I am not sure about the block. Any experience with remanufactured engines? Reputable sellers on the net? It might be cheaper to just buy a long block, but I have no experience with this.

Any idea of what it will cost to get the engine out of the boat? It is a port engine and my cabin door is on the starboard side, of course.

To rebuild or not to rebuild.....

I got an estimate for $400 each way. Take the motor out of the port side and get it out to the back deck so that I can hire a forklift to lift it out of the boat. It will cost another $400 to get it back into the boat. I think that the forklift is $75 per hour (minimum of 1 hr.). I saw lots of horror stories from people that ordered long blocks from some of the internet favorites. I will be rebuilding my old engine. Ball park estimate of $3,500 depending on what they find.

I got an estimate for $400 each way. Take the motor out of the port side and get it out to the back deck so that I can hire a forklift to lift it out of the boat. It will cost another $400 to get it back into the boat. I think that the forklift is $75 per hour (minimum of 1 hr.). I saw lots of horror stories from people that ordered long blocks from some of the internet favorites. I will be rebuilding my old engine. Ball park estimate of $3,500 depending on what they find.

4 guys can lift it out by hand if you strip it down to the short block in the boat, remove the manifolds, heads, pumps etc. and it's not that heavy.

Dan