Logo
Get instant online access to repair manuals for your Mercury / Mariner outboard. Online Manuals
MercuryMariner
Order printed Mercury / Mariner service manuals — shipped to your door! Printed Manuals
MercuryMariner
Use engine diagrams to find & order parts for your Mercury / Mariner engine. Engine Diagrams
MercuryMariner
Find parts quickly with Mercury application guides. Quick Parts Guide
MercurySierraCDI

Default 1973 65hp mercury doesnt get spark to plugs, motor turns over, no start

Motor looks brand new. Is this motor worth repairing. Do they typically have problems. I am new to this.

Default Re: 1973 65hp mercury doesnt get spark to plugs, motor turns over, no start

is this motor one you have owned for a while and used it and got good past performance?this has nothing to do with firing but the very first thing i would check is the compression before i decided to spend any money on it or not...what you have is a 3 cylinder with only 2 carbs...

Default Re: 1973 65hp mercury doesnt get spark to plugs, motor turns over, no start

I got this motor last year. Compression is good.

Ireland,the only country in the world you can go North to go South

http://www.maxrules.com/oldmercs/Wiring/1966ona/29.jpg The brown wire is the tach sig. The mercury tilt switch,which stops you from starting the engine while it is tilted, is the the only kill circuit on this old an outboard,apart from turning the key off, unless it was fitted retrospectively.
    Disconnect the tilt switch,see if you get spark,are the plugs getting wet?

I've tried everything you gentleman have suggested. I'm wondering if it could be a problem with the distributor. I understand they can be quite expensive. i really appreciate all the help I have given so far.

I might have a crack in the cap. what do you think. thanx for your reply and help.

Do you get spark coming out of the ignition coil ?

yes, spark coming out of the ignition coil