Logo

"water in gas"

scottinok

I have a 2009 Nissan 4hp outboard motor (model #NSF4B2). I've owned it for two years and had no problems during the first season of use. But early last year it would not start or stay running if it did. The local authorized service center said there was water in the tank and advised I used ethanol-free gas. I heeded his advice, put the motor on the boat and it ran fine for about 15 minutes. Died and would not start again. This time, I took it to a different servicer but the diagnosis was the same. I put it back on the boat and it ran for about 5 minutes. Would not start again.
I'm not a mechanic in any way and considering the lack of advice I've received from the service centers, I'm not sure what to try next. Despite looking new and shiny, it won't sell. So I thought I'd try this forum. Any suggestions/ideas would be appreciated in case our lakes get rain some day.
Thanks,
Scott

Scott,