Logo

Revs go up, prop slows after a long run (not hub issue)

uptown dog

Hi Folks,

A newbie here that bought a 24' Smokercraft pontoon with a Mariner, 60 hp 2-stroke Big Foot about 15 years old. Has oil injection. Misplaced the manual, will get the serial # soon. Got out of flying as it was too expensive and bought the pontoon instead. Hoping that was a good decision. Yikes.

Here's the problem. Brought the boat down the lake about 45 minutes just before Christmas, running at 4200 rpm per suggestion by previous owner. Ran perfectly and docked her until this month. Went out the Sunday before last and basically tooled around sight-seeing at around 2500-3000 rpm for about an hour. Decided to take a 20 minute run at 4200. Ran fine. Slowed to a fast idle to sight-see again for 15 minutes. Decided to return to marina at 4200 rpm. Ran fine for a very short time and then it felt like the prop was cavitating, prop was slipping or like putting in the clutch on a running car. RPM went up and prop slowed. I felt a very light vibration from the floor.

Went to around 3,000 rpm and ran OK for awhile, increased the throttle and same thing, revs go up, boat slows down. I finally had to take her down to about 2000 rpm to get her back to the marina with no prop slipping. I revved her up a couple times on the way back, but same thing would happen, revs go up fine, prop not biting, not so fine.

Mechanic at marina was sure it needed a new rubber hub, but when he took it apart, he said it was perfect with no signs of spinning. He's still scratching his head as I write this. He took it out for a 15 minute WOT run and said she ran perfectly. I'm guessing it may be heat related after a longer run. Prior owner did not maintain the craft mechanically. It looks nice though. The only instrument working is the tach. Even the horn won't sound. I plan on having all the instruments replaced/repaired, but for now, they're all defunct.