Logo

Optimax extended warranty upgrade?

Frank O

A year ago this month, I bought a new Optimax 250 outboard. There was a promotion going on at the time where I got a free extended warranty (covering five years total) rather than the standard warranty (which I gather is three years?).

Recently I got a letter from Mercury offering me to buy an upgrade of the extended warranty from "Gold" to "Platinum." If I understand it correctly, during the basic warranty period (three years) both mechanical and electrical failures are covered, but during the extended warranty, only mechanical items are covered and electrical items are not. By buying the upgrade from "Gold" to "Platinum," the extended warranty will cover electrical items such as ignition components, fuel pump, trim system components and the Smartcraft instrument system. They want $506 for the coverage upgrade.

Any opinions about this? $506 for two years of coverage of electrical components seems high. I've had plenty of experience working on electrical components of my old carbureted two-stroke (I've changed out CDM's, temperature sensors, console components, etc), so I'm inclined to forget about the upgrade and just do it myself if there are any electrical component failures in that time period. (Then again, I'm hoping parts won't start failing when the engine is 3-5 years old. It took a lot longer than that for things to start needing replacement on my old engine.)