Logo

M40C won't accelerate past 1/2 throttle

Duck Dingy

This has got to be an easy fix. I'm pretty new to boat motors but i'm pretty handy with a wrench. The motor starts first pull, idles just fine, and snaps your neck when your take off...........only up to 1/2 throttle then it falls on its face and starts stuttering, spitting, and will only do 20 mph. Everything is new from the tank all the way to the lines that feed the carb as well as new plugs. I will take all of the tips, tricks, and ideas that anybody has. I know that 20 mph will get me where i want to go but i know that motor has a lot left in it.
Thank you so much for all of your help.
Jarrid.:cool:

I should also add that this motor will rev through all RPM ranges like a mad man in neutral. Also i've had some problems with it dying while idling and when i immediately go to restart, it's either going to start right back up on the first pull, or flood out and i have to wait a while. Now for the idle, it's set too low and i need to adjust the screw to raise it. But what about the easy flooding. It doesn't take but what it seems like 4 or 5 pulls and it's pointless to keep trying. Will messing with the air/fuel screw solve any of my problems?

When was the last time the carb was removed, disassembled, cleaned, and adjusted? It should never flood. The float may be adjusted too high, or the float valve needle may be worn/corroded.