Logo

Piston to cylinder clearance?

rdomeck

I have been reading through 4 pages of threads that came up in the search tool for piston to cylinder clearance. I have a Johnson 150 made in 1980. I need to bore at least three cylinder's and I have located some used pistons. Trying to find what everyone is running. I have seen threads that say .004 and others that say factory reps go for .009 that's a pretty big difference. I currently have .007 on the three that I hope not to bore.

Thanks for the help, Randy

Thank you for that info. I run a fabrication business and I do my own machine work. I have been rebuilding engine's for many years and I do realize that getting pistons and boring all the cylinders larger would be a good way to go. What I am looking for is what is the minimum and maximum that people run. The manual that I have says .004-.0075. I am at .007 on two cylinders. .006 on another and the other three are currently bored for .020 over pistons and I am installing .030 pistons in those cylinders. The .020 over cylinders also have a .006-.007 clearance on them, but the pistons are scored. I plan on re-ringing and installing the pistons that I have as that would save buying about $600 worth of pistons.

Thanks for the help, Randy

Obviously you are aware that even a new piston is 0.010" smaller in diameter at the area of the piston rings.------------The clearance per the book is measured at the skirt.--------------So you have to look at the overall picture as extreme wear near the rings will mean a " noisy engine " due to piston slap.-----------I also understand the economic consideration too.------At 0.007" clearance the engine will certainly run fine as I have seen them at up to 0.010" and still running OK.