Logo

Switch to diesel?

sharkman

Hi, was wondering if anyone out there can help or direct to to somewhere that may be able to. Have an 8meter sea ray flybridge with twin 225hp mercruisers in it goes really well but as I,m getting older I don,t feel the need for speed or fuel bills, so thinking of replacing with single diesel and leg. I guess the boat would weigh about 2.5 ton? question is what sort of horsepower would be needed to do say 18 to 20kt cruise? many thanks in advance, cheers.

By "leg: do you mean and outdrive as in an inboard/outboard set up? Or are you talking about a full inboard?

I'm no expert on this topic, but I think something around 200 HP with bigger prop(s) would do the trick. I've seen several setups using Volvo 185 HP 4 cylinder diesel matched to a Volvo duo-prop Alpha outdrive. A close friend has that setup and a 24 ft Whaler which probably weighs about the same as your boat, and it is a very sweet, economical setup. However, here in the States, Volvo parts are very expensive.

My biggest concern would be weight distribution. You'll need to pay special attention to that.

By "leg: do you mean and outdrive as in an inboard/outboard set up? Or are you talking about a full inboard?

I'm no expert on this topic, but I think something around 200 HP with bigger prop(s) would do the trick. I've seen several setups using Volvo 185 HP 4 cylinder diesel matched to a Volvo duo-prop Alpha outdrive. A close friend has that setup and a 24 ft Whaler which probably weighs about the same as your boat, and it is a very sweet, economical setup. However, here in the States, Volvo parts are very expensive.

My biggest concern would be weight distribution. You'll need to pay special attention to that.

Thanks very much for reply. Yes running thru outdrive. have thought about weight, have a fair bit of room in front of present set up, thinking of mounting motor for best weight distribution and running a jack shaft to outdrive. cheers.