Logo

120 HP GM carb idle screw.

Josh Hopkins

Ok, i have a 1972 sea ray that has a 120 HP Inboard engine. I am having an issue with it idling...the problem being that it wont. I can start it in neutral but i have to have the throttle pressed down for it to stay running. There is a hole on one bracket that has threads but i have ran a screw threw it and there is nowhere for the screw to go really. So my question is, how do i get his darn thing to idle. I will attach a picture of the carb,any and all help will be appreciated, and if you haven't noticed im new to the boat world, but i am some what mechanically sound, just not with boats.

Attachments

• 1carb.jpg
    1carb.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 456
how do i get his darn thing to idle.
Rebuild it by giving it a good 12-24 hour soak in carb cleaner and blow out the idle circuits and venturi w/100 psi compressed air. If it has a single mixture screw it is a Mercarb and requires base gasket # 27-807982. The mixture will not adjust worth a crap w/any other thin gasket. If there are two mixture screws it probably is a Rochester. Buy a Merc. OEM carb kit w/accellerator pump...no aftermarket crap kits. You may need a float if it is heavy. They are cheap so replace it anyway. Make sure the stove pipe on the choke is clear and the exhaust passage in the manifold is not plugged w/exhaust carbon and gunk. If it is then buy an electric choke for it and wire it to a purple ignition wire w/16 ga. wire.
Overhaul kit # 823427A1. You can order the kit above in parts search.

Last edited: