Logo

When to clean heat exchangers

DWester

Regular Contributor
I've been running a heat exchanger on my 350 Chevy/Merc for about 10 years now and was wondering what type of maintenance/cleaning these things need and how often. The motor was starting to run on the warmer side, but after looking at the exhaust manifolds condition, I figured it was probably the culprit. This system gets in the salt a fair amount every year.

So what's the story on H/Exchanger maintenance?

The user cannot easily access the E/G side of the tube bundle.
However, a radiator shop who is equipped to do Marine Heat Exchangers, can perform a complete assessment for you. They will be set up to take the unit apart and fully clean and/or repair it.

You may want to remove it, fill with hot water, shake the crap out of it, and then dump the contents into a white bucket.
Look for any rust scale debris that has not completely bonded to the tube bundle.
There is an acid wash that you can carefully use if you follow the instructions to the letter.

That's a first sign...how old is the impeller?

Replaced the complete pump last year. I try and do it every 2 years. Where will the problem most likely be, in the contained/antifreeze side in the tubes, the fresh water side or both? Would there be a problem with popping one of the sides off and taking a peak inside?

Last edited:
If it has been a number of years since the antifreeze was changed I would start w/a flush and refill. Pull the end caps off of the exchanger and take a look at the tubes. If there is a buildup if crud then do as Rick stated: "...a radiator shop who is equipped to do Marine Heat Exchangers, can perform a complete assessment for you. They will be set up to take the unit apart and fully clean and/or repair it." Doing it is part of boating PM. Verify the coolant circulating pump is not seeping out of the weep hole on the underside of the shaft housing. As soon as you flush the engine it will spring a leak.