Logo

1985 Mercruiser 350 CID 260 HP Cooling System Winterizing

holt

"Hello Folks: When pouring coo

"Hello Folks: When pouring coolant into the necessary hoses, how do I determine which to pour the coolant into. Looks to be 6 top dead center in the tsat housing area. Can anyone provide a diagram?"

"I have always heard it is bet

"I have always heard it is better to run it through the engine with it running to ensure there aren't any air pockets, you would do this by running it through the outdrive with the engine running until it starts to come out the exhaust. I am not an expert though."

"Craig:
If your engine is a

"Craig:
If your engine is all raw water cooled, drain the block and manifolds first and pour straight RV/marine -50 or -100 deg.F. antifreeze into each hose. Four hoses are to the exhaust manifolds, one is the raw water inlet (bottom of pump) and the largest is the recirculating pump--pour about one gallon into it from the T'stat connection and 1/2 gallon into the raw water hose. Then pour about two gallons (1/2 gallon each) into the other four hoses. Guy"

"Thanks to Troy & Guy.

"Thanks to Troy & Guy.

Question: So, pour into all six, correct? I was concerned that maybe a couple of the hoses were not necessary, in that it would just drain staright out onto the driveway. But, it seems like that pouring into all 6 will ensure all necessary cavities are filled and that if any does indeed drain onto the driveway, that denotes that all is filled and is as should be. Correct?

Is there any kind of schematic, avaiable on line, for the cooling system which shows the water flow from intake to
expulsion?

Last question (for now, while I have everyones attention)- Water exits the engine via the top left and right of the outdrive and exhaust exits through the prop hub - correct?
Thanks Again."

"Craig:
#1 - yes--stop pouri

"Craig:
#1 - yes--stop pouring when it starts to run out