Logo

low speed misfire

01subaruRS

hey i am kinda new to boats. i have a 1988 OMC 2.3 that among many other things was just converted to a pertronix electronic ignition and flamethrower II coil. i wired per the instructions. now i have a skip under 2500 rpm. seems ok above 2500. also (even before the ignition upgrade) the engine never reaches full rpm 4800 max on a good day(may still be carb/fuel related). the prop is what belongs on the boat per the manual. when it misses the volt Gage drops off for a quick sec and the tach drops off at the same time like a loose connection. all are tight. voltage at the battery never drops and alternator voltage never drops. i thought i had a short so i ran a fresh power wire from the back of the alternator to the + side of the coil and ran a new external tach unhooking the OE tach wire and esa wires. still the same. the distributor, cap,rotor,wire set and plugs are all new and the ESA is unhooked. when running if i put my meter leads on the - side coil connection when it misses the voltage at the - side drops off in sync with the volt gage( + side stays 13-14v). im hoping some one has run in to this and can help. i may be missing some thing but im pulling my hair out trying to find this. i have spent so much time screwing around with this boat i just want to enjoy it for one day with out working in it. any help would be appreciated. thanks, brian

Remove the wire from the alt to the coil. I never in over 45 years of wrenching have ever jumped that way a engine. If you wanted steady power to the coil jump from the pos side of the battery to the pos side of the coil with a switch, so you can shut off the engine. What kit did you install ? Me i would replace the entire dist, not just throw in a kit to convert the old one the shaft could be loose. Also i think you had a resister wire going to the old dist.

Concerning the rpm issue here is a post copied and pasted from another site. Follow the list.