Logo

vacuum test results 1991 454

slauder

Regular Contributor
Before I fogged the engines for the winter I took some readings with a new OTC Vacuum gauge and extracted oil from the dipstick.

Port:
15 @ 600 *
17 @ 1000
20 @ 2500 - 3500

Starboard
16 @ 600 **
18 @ 1000
20 @ 2500 - 3500

* needle shake and ruff low idle
** some but less needle shake

When doing the quick acceleration test I drop only to reading of 10 and then up to 25.
At a faster idle about 900-1000 the needle is solid and engines sound good.
I have trouble seeing whats what since I'm new to vacuum testing.
After reviewing link below I wish I had more time to play with timing and mixtures.
I always seem rich but better late then early.
I dont see a flicker at low idles I see more a swing but not 13-17 as the test#15 shows. I only swing 14-16 if that.

http://www.secondchancegarage.com/public/186.cfm

I think I might have a mix of top getting worn, and not being able to get carbs adjusted and timing optimized.

Does anyone know a good machine shop on Long Island NY for my heads? What would be a ball park for rebuilding heads?

With 1290 hours I think it would be a good idea now. I will wait for the Blackstone results before anything, to rule out obvious bottom half issues.

Comments and sugestions welcome.

Thanks,
Scott

Scott,