Logo

2001 4.3 L Merc Water in fuel or Fuel pump problem?

yuey

Hey I'm new to the boating.

2001 Regal with a 4.3 merc only 75 hrs.
1St time drained tank had carb rebuilt worked for the season (last year) $700.00

This year -

Starts and stalls put fuel additive top it up with gas in and replace separation filter starts up and runs for the day. ( boat was winterized with stabilizer )

Only the second time out this year

Today - starts, in the first 5 min under load dies put another separation filter on nothing. Check fuel filter no fuel. Took it home disconnect the fuel line at the carb and no fuel. Wired pump to constant 12V and had fuel put everything back together and started and run no problem (on land). The one thing I noticed is the pump wasn't coming on when the key was in the run position. Not sure if the carb can pull enough when running under no load? Metered switch seems okay. I could only see 2 little drops of water in the old water separation filter. Is the fuel pump suppose to run all the time or only when the pressure drops?

Can't see that much water getting into the tank or condensation.

Any idea? still water in fuel or fuel problem?

Thanks

I try and tell people to get an external fuel tank with fresh fuel and run it and see what happens, you will know, also get a manual and check fuel pressure or sombody will tell you what it should be, ( don't know off hand ).

Look at the tank see where the fuel gets pulled to the fuel pump ? Remove hose off fitting and screw out the fitting the fuel pickup tube will come up with the fitting.

That fitting is a one way valve blow thru it and make sure it is working good and that the fuel pickup tube is clear.

The carb has a filter in the fitting where the fuel enters clean it.

You could fill the water sep filter with fuel before you install it.

Thanks for all the input.