MarineEngine.com - Your online store for all types of marine engines and boat parts.
PHONE ORDERS
Monday - Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST
Click for TOLL-FREE Number
Online Checkout
Special $9.95 Flat Rate Shipping
(800) 209-9624 | Home | Contact | Shipping | Returns | Cart View your shopping cart.
Part Number Search
Shop by engine/drive part number.
Original & matching parts for sale.
Manuals & Accessories
Shop by description, item number
or manufacturer's model number.
Boat Repair Forum Boat Repair Forum   Boat Video Gallery Video Gallery

Default 1959 Johnson 10hp seahorse help please! Spark plugs and rebuild question.

Hello, I have a 1959 johnson seahorse 10 hp outboard. Here is what I have replaced: New impeller kit, 2 new coils, 2 new condensors, working on rebuilding the carburetor, 2 spark plugs, 2 spark plug wires, and new gear lube. I set my points as best I could. I have no knowledge with motors but have read a ton about this motor but speak simple terms please. When I turn the magneto wheel to see if I can get a spark from the plugs there is no spark. The magneto wheel is difficult to turn, prior to the rebuild it was easier to turn. Not sure what I have done wrong. I know when I replaced the spark plug cords they were a little difficult to get the wire into the coil so maybe there isn't enough connection there? Not really sure, but I will greatly appreciate any and all advice. Once again speak in simple terms. Thanks!

Default Re: 1959 Johnson 10hp seahorse help please! Spark plugs and rebuild question.

Did you put the coils in the right position --------------You can not just put them in and tighten the screws.--------You can use the timing marks on the magneto plate and the flywheel to set the points.

Default Re: 1959 Johnson 10hp seahorse help please! Spark plugs and rebuild question.