Logo

1990 Force 50HP sputters at more than half throttle

Lav6880

I have a 1990 Force 50HP and the problem I’m having is when I go more than half throttle it will start to sputter. It runs great below half throttle and idles great. It will pick up speed for about few seconds but then sputter and even shut down if I don’t pull the throttle back. I’ve changed the spark plugs and the fuel filter. I’ve also tried the sea foam stuff to clean out the fuel line. Last time on the lake it picked up for about 2 minutes and then the same thing happened. Anybody has ideas? I’m a beginner to outboard motors but I can get by.

Water in the fuel?Do a compression/spark test.Then check/rebuild the fuel pump.
Clean the carb and while it's off check the condition of the reeds.
Any in-line connectors?They can leak and suck air.I remove them.

Thanks for your comments. I already did the fuel pump. Took it to a local mechanic last night and he noticed that the vent on the fuel tank cap was all the way closed which needs to be open while running. I also ordered a new carb so I'll replace it since it's 21 years old. If I do everything at once I wont know which one fixed the problem so I'm taking it one by one. The next is to replace the fuel line from the tank to the fuel pump.
I'll keep you updated on what happens.

It turns out they didn't have the carburetor so I ordered new parts, gaskets, nozzle, jets, float and replaced them. I also replaced the fuel line with new primer ball. Now it won't even go half throtle, bugs down right away if I give it gas. Idles ok although it looks a little rough. Now sure which way to go from here. Any sugestions?

You have a manual? Try to find the Force manual.
If the float isin't set right it will bog and stall.
boats.net Force Forum and the first thread.FrankA posted a thread:called a linc and sinc do that.
Later today i'll try to post a pic of the float settings.J

Last edited: