Logo

1956 Johnson

JDBlack

Hey everyone
I've got a '56 Johnson 30 HP RD-18 that I'm trying to get going. I got it fired up today, and of course found out my water pump/impeller isn't pumping water. I'm new to outboards and I've searched several forums looking for the parts I need. I keep reading that there are kits that you can buy, but the closest thing I've found is just buying the individual parts. Trouble is, I'm not sure what all to purchase to ensure I'm doing it correctly. I'd appreciate any information you guys are willing to share. And I apologize if this is a common post, I really did try to search around before posting.

Thanks again!

No problem thats why we ae here,Welcome!!I have personally never worked on a engine that old,but there should be a rubber impeller and a plastic casing with a metal inser inside of it,andmabe some o rings.Thats what every water pump i have replaced has.