Logo

Vovlo Penta 3.0 GS overheating and I don't know why

clownchow8

Hey everyone. My name is Chris and I own a 1999 18 foot bowlder with a Volvo Penta 3.0 GS. Last summer the boat ran fine until the end, when I started to notice overheating. This summer the water hose going into the engine ruptured so now I need some help. I've checked the veins on the water pump and their fine. I've ran water through the exhaust manifold and back through the inlet and there was no obstruction of flow. I'm guessing somewhere in the internals there are bits of gunk that are causing all my problems, but I'm no expert. Any advice on back-flushing the engine or should I pursue a different coarse of action. Also the boat needs a thermostat and a new hose (obviously). Thanks for anyones advice.

Chris, sorry to hear about your overheating issue, but it happens to most at one time or another. Just search overheating and you find plenty of threads to guide you for what to look for.

You didn't mention if it overheats at all times or just when idling or just when plained out. Also, is your boat raw water cooled or is it a closed system?

Either way, some of the things that you can try are actually unbolting your risers and manifolds to see if rust is restricting water flow. Just because water flows through them doesn't mean it enough.

Also, check to see if your thermostat is working.

You can also drain you block and see if there is any gunk that got sucked up in there. Since your impeller was intact, it is doubtful there are pieces stuck in the water passages of your engine.

Also, check the water connection hose on the drive to see if its cracked.

Good luck.

The engine sits around 120-130 F when idle or when slowly moving through the water. Once I push it up to around 2600 RPM however, Temp goes up. For a short while it would take around 10 minutes, full throttle, to get to 200-250 F, but this last time it skyrocketed almost immediately, then blew.