Logo

Vapor lock or what?

ALF1

Hi Boaters,
This is my first time here and I have a problem that's driving me crazy. My 1997 SeaRay Deck Boat with a 5.7LX EFI with a BRAVOIII has a fuel cooler with Throttle Body fuel injection with the fuel return line travels back to the water seperator.
I have been using regular car gas with less then 10% Ethanol. Ever since I had a new remanufactured MercCruiser engine installed in 2007 and new fuel pump in 2008 I have been experiencing a vapor lock. When I first start the boat it starts and runs fine but when I stop after a run for 1 to 2 hours then I can't start the engine until is fully cools down ,about 3 to 4 hours, then it starts right up.
I tried every thing possible to keep the engine compartment as cool as possible by opoening the engine cover and running blower and running at idle for a few minutes before I shut down.
I have gotten different answers for several mechanics. What do you boaters say before I start to use fuel with no Ethanol to see if this is the fix.

EFI can't "vapor lock".
Take off the flame arrestor. Have someone crank the (hot) engine while you look in the throat of the TBI unit. You should see fuel coming out of the injectors. Yes? no spark. No? no fuel. So, troubleshooting will need that information before we can go any further.

Are you letting it idle 2-3 minutes before shutting it down????????

Vapor lock, vapor lock sheech people who don't know always say that usually it's something else, i would say 98% of the time.

Your motor showing any codes ?

A while back someone else posted a similar issue. If i remeber correctly there is a merc service bulitten for this issue. Maybe one of the more EFI savy contributors here will respond.... Boattech or one of the others. ..