Logo

Volvo Penta Aq 231 A Electrical Problem

TimH615

Hoping someone can help with a stubborn electricla probelm on my 1990 Volvo Penta AQ 231 A. Not a mechanic by trade but do have a reasonable common sense about trouble shooting something like this.
Problem began with an unexpected stall while underway that found no electrical supply to accessories or ignition. Back at the dock, couple of things became evident. A manifold mounted 40 amp circut breaker and relay assembly was, apparently, overheating for some time as the wires were melted and one heavily rusted. The circut breaker was hot and terminals hot enough to burn skin. Pressed and reset red circut breaker. Power to accessories restored, no ignition. Half hour later (apparently when cooled) starter engaged, engine started, ran smooth. Shut down after 30 seconds.
Replaced bith the relay andf circut breaker and stripped wires back to the point I saw clean, untarnished, shiney wire, reassembled.......no power to accessories or starter?
Using 12 v tester, find power all over the engiBoat Parts 6-11020_edited.jpgne ..to and from the circut breaker, starter, and exiting via the 'red' wire from the relay. Under the dash, no power anywhere (other than the VHF radioBoat Parts 6-11023.jpg)......have shaken, rattled, and rolled every wire and connection I can see to no avail.
Does anybody have any suggestions on where to look .......I have included picture of where the relay and circut breaker are on the engine as well as individual pics of the items replaced .... Boat Parts 6-11014.jpg

The red button circuit breaker is a Cole Hersee.
Easy to find, be sure to match the ampere rating.
Be sure to replace the cable ends.
And definitely find out what was causing the circuit over-load.

The relay is very likely for your ignition start by-pass circuit.
It provides a full 12 v to the ignition coil during cranking only.