Logo

Water in the Bell Housing

I've just purchased a 78 318 raw water cooled engine. I'm putting it a 20' correct craft and I'm using the transmission that came with the boat. The new engine came with a Paragon 21R on it. I pulled the transmission and it looks like a lot of hot water has been behind the engine.
I had fired the engine up to make sure it would start and idle before I bought.Ran it for a about ten seconds since no water was being pumped into the engine. Pulled the dipstick no water in there. There is some evidence of antifreeze in the water intake hose and the guy I bought it from told me that he had winterized the engine. The freeze plugs all seem to be ok. I've since pulled the thermostat and filled the engine from there with water. No leaks but no pressure is being built up. I'm new to Marine engines so raw water cooling is almost a mystery to me. I'm planning on changing the freeze plugs on the back while i've got the flywheel off(I know I need brass plugs). So would the rust in the bell housing come from bilge water or would it been from water coming by the freeze plugs? Is the rust evidence of overheating? The motor came out of a Chris Craft cabin cruiser so it was completely below deck. So I plan on replacing the impeller on the water pump, thermostat and freeze plugs. Put the velvet drive on and fire it up with a garden hose hooked up the the intake hose for a water supply. If anything I've said sends up red flags let me know. Thanks for any help!

If you don't see any signs of old leaks at the rear frost plugs, it's possible that the hull took on water at one time. Look for signs of high water elsewhere, perhaps a greasy line along the oil pan or bell housing. Check out previous water pump threads; very helpful. Use a lubricant like dishsoap on the new impeller.