Logo

97 5.7 litre v8 mercruiser water in oil!!!!

sbh6159

Hi everyone i am new here seeking advice before going out and blowing a hole in my bank account. I have a 1997 crownline with a 5.7 litre v8 mercruiser. I pulled the boat out of the garage this weekend for a first spring start up expecting some sort of problem becasuse like an idiot i did not winterize the boat this year but to my surprise i hooked the hose up turned the key and it fired right up. I left it at idle for about 1 minute and it sounded great but then... i noticed milky oil coming out of the top of the engine where the carb and breather are and my heart sank. i have called around a lot of local marine shops and all are saying cracked block or blown head gasket. Upon noticing the oil coming out i quickly shut the boat off and pulled the dipstick to find water coming out of the dipstick hole. Before i go and pay an un-godly amount of money to have her fixed does anyone have any advice i am no mechanic by any means but i did check the freeze plugs and they are all still in place and none of them are pushed out. any and all advice will be greatly appreciated!

If a cylinder head gasket has blown, then you must of course change it before running the engine again. Because cooling water then enters the engine oil. I think it unlikely that the cylinder head has cracked, as you would have noticed things like air bubbles in the cooling system, boiling over and losing water fast last time the boat was in the water and you ran the engines for a period of time. One slight possibility is, could someone have put water into the crankcase, or do you live in a place where moisture could accumulate in the crankcase, so there will be a water build up over time? However, this last possibility is very remote. Changing the cylinder head gasket alone is not a big deal and not very expensive as such.