Logo

Will not idle without choke- Fuel pump? 1998 40 hp

Mdoherty

Contributing Member
Motor is a 98 BF40A, starts ok but runs rough, needs choke on and fast idle arm up or it stalls. If I use the manual choke I can advance the throttle and it speeds up. I think it needs a carb cleaning but the mechanic at the marina says it needs a fuel pump. When it's running I can squeeze the primer bulb and it doesn't improve anything. New boat to me so I don't know the service history and I have no experience with the mechanic good or bad. I'm in a marina that doesn't allow outside vendors so I don't have a lot of choices.

one of the carburators jets could be clogged or a float could be hung so if you start it you can tap on the float bowl of each carburator pretty vigorously but not to damage anything. It sometimes can dislodge the float and allow fuel to that carb.

I am not a betting man, but I would have lost big money on that one.

Glad to hear it worked out and you can use your boat.

Mike

Premature celebration, it wasn't the fuel pump. Still has the same problem,not as bad but still not running right and on the verge of stalling. I was able to play with it and did a cyl balance test by pulling plugs while running. Top plug had no change in rpm, other two had significant rpm falloff. When I opened the fuel bown drain on that carb fuel ran out and the idle improved. When i shut it it returned to poor running. I pulled the carbs to take them home and will do a cleaning this week. For those betting i think it's a push and the money is still on the table :)

Pay close attention to the air passages as well as the idle passages on the top carburator. Check the long tube going up through the carburator. It is most likely plugged up.

Also, check all the long tubes (idle jets) for minute cracks in them...with a magnifying glass. The older 40's and 50's seem to have an issue with these. It will cause irratic or poor idle.