Logo

Water is not beeing sucked up... 2003 Mercruiser 350

bluebeast

Hey everyone, im pretty new to the boating scene. With my boat sitting on the trailer and a water hose hooked up, i noticed its not sucking the water up into the motor when running and eventually it will overheat. Im very mechanically inclined and want to see if i can tackle/troubshoot this myself. Ived searched online and the impeller seems to be on topic. Any ideas? Motor has about 300 hours on it.

Thanks.

Re: Water is not beeing sucked up... 03 Mercruiser 350

Ya what drive, Alpha or Bravo, and what kind of muffs are you using? Where is the water going, just dumping out of the muffs, or is it actually going through the engine and out the exhaust ports in transom assembly or through the prop?

I believe its a Bravo. Not sure on the brand of muffs, but they look like big earphones and the shape of the actual ear covers are rectangular. I have them clamped on nicely covering the intake holes, and the water just comes out from the sides of the muffs. Engine runs strong until temps get up and then i turn it off. Water pressure coming from the garden hose is good.

Do you have the drive trimmed down ("IN") all the way?

If the drive is in the "Trailer" position, the hose between the drive and engine can get pinched.

Is there any water coming out of either of the idle ports on the transom or the prop?

Hmmm I don't remeber where the trim was set at.. but ill check.

I didn't see any water at all coming from those ports.

if it is a Bravo as he states it has a belt driven water pump, undo the hose at the pump and check for flow from the drive, then check belt tension and replace that 3 yr old impeller. IMO

If the waterpump is in the same location as if this was a regular car/truck engine, then yes its belt driven. So the waterpump actually does all the sucking? Again this is my first time with boats so be nice.

Thanks

There are two types of systems.