Logo

Volvo Penta AQ280 DP Outdrive removal

nicholas0

Hey Guys, i need some advice on the removal of my outdrive. I have done many Mercs, with alphas and Stringers. But this will be my first Volvo. The boat is a 28.6 trophy bayliner. Year is an 86. I am going to do the bellows this year to save time and money. I am a diesel equipment mechanic, but i just wanted some insight on the project. The ins and outs of the removal, I will apreciate the help guys! Thanks in advance. Nick, and as always tight lines.

Niick, I'm sure the pros will be along shortly and the removal steps are pretty well documented. I'd like to mention some of the inspections and tests that should be performed prior to disassembly.

Like any other gearbox, checking the oil as it's drained will give you an idea if there is water present or any other foreign material.

After draining, it's a good idea to do a pressure test to find any leaks before you tear things apart. That way, you'll have a good idea of seals and o-rings needing replacement.

I'll let the pros handle the rest, just waned to point out a few things I've discovered in the last couple of years.

Glad that you found it useful.
I have tried to cover most all there, but don't be surprised if there is something that I may have forgotten to mention.

Post back with any questions..... I'll update the BOC page as needed!

Rick

Well, the URL has become corupted some how. I sent an email to one of the moderators, he confirmed that it is no longer good. I'll have to see if I can find the thread that was linked to.

Meanwhile, try this:
Note that most all AQ series Volvo Penta female threads are thread inserts.... much like a Heli-coil. We don't want to risk damaging any, or breaking a fastner off..... especially if the threads are saturated with corrosion. I find that penetrating oils just don't cut the mustard on many of these...... at least not in the amount of time that we have to give them.