Logo

Engine Rebuild or Replace? 1974 Marinette Sedan 32ft w/ Twin Chrysler 318's

ATCLeathalZ24

Hi everyone, I'm new to boats and Just bought this '74 Sedan. The boat itself is in FINE shape, however, mechanically it looks like the motors (the blocks) might need rebuilding or replacing (knocking left eng', right side not firing but turning over). This comes from a "mechanically inclined" friend, as an initial look at the situation.

Here's my problem:

1) As far as being "cost effective", can I just swap the short-blocks w/ street motor blocks (some good ones w/ low miles), retaining all the original MARINE top-end stuff,:confused: or.....

2) Should I just have the blocks rebuilt, heads reconditioned, replace all other components (i.e., oil pump, etc).:confused:

I'm currently in Iraq (DOD Contractor), so I'm having to coordinate all this from here. I'm having a certified mechanic go inspect the engines to give me a "professional" diagnisis, so I'm just thinking/planning ahead just in case.

Any advice on this endeavor would be much appreciated.

Thanks, ATCDave

Dave:

Buy two long blocks, swap over the valve covers, intakes, distributors, etc. and toss the old blocks out. You'll be way ahead in the long run. Mopar long blocks are cheaper than Chevies, and car motors need lots of part swapping--and that's just for the standard rotation motor.

Jeff (!985 Marinette 32 foot Sedan)

If previously raw water cooled, and particularly if in Salt Water...... NO!
Begin fresh with automotive cores.

Remeber that one engine will be RH Reverse Rotation, and requires some special attention in that reqard.

Thanks guys. Well, the boat IS raw water cooled, brackish'/saltwater. Since this is a twin screw w/ the separate motors and trans' facing rear (they appear to have Borg-Warner AS1-71C Velvet Drives w/ reverse I believe?).....I am assuming both motors rotate the same direction....is that right? I'm unfamiliar with this reverse rotation situation.