Logo

HELP!!! 1980 351 motor dies after warm up

skiingMike

I have a 1980 Master Craft w/ 351 pleasurecraft I replaced practically everything but the motor itself and alternator...rebuilt carb,new fuel pump and filter, new pertronix ignition with 40,000 volt coil (which I bypassed the resistor because the coil has an internal resistor) So now it starts great and runs great for awhile...after it warms up the motor dies while idling...I restart giving it gas and stays running only with more throttle...throttle down to idle and it dies. It did this before the new pertronix in the distribtor...was out boating for a while then after 20 minutes it started acting up when slowing down to idle....was hard to keep running while trying to trailer the boat. Last summer and the beginning of this summer it worked great. Do you think the alternator has something to do with it? The next step is to have it tested to help rule it out or in as a problem.:confused:

Not to "beat you up" but that's why many will tell you "throwing parts" at a problem is usually an expensive method.

Assuming the boat has been cared for reasonablly well, I'd suspect you have a fuel delivery issue. If you want to bet the fuel pump is okay, I'd say look for a restriction between the pump and the tank. Suspects would be crud in the tank, aged hose, broken clamp, or malfunctioning anti-syphon valve. A vacuum gauge can help doing this. Another proven technique is to temporarily hookup an outboard can to supply the fuel pump. If you want to be thorough, you should also verify the fuel pump delivers sufficient fuel (volume) with adequate pressure (fuel pressure gauge).

Not to "beat you up" but that's why many will tell you "throwing parts" at a problem is usually an expensive method.

Boat: A hole in the water surrounded by wood into which one pours money.