Logo

HELP with Espar heaters

Brian silk

Regular Contributor
I just wanted to put it out here that I can give service advise on ESPAR brand heaters. I have been an Espar Marine tech for 16 years and know them inside out. You can message me privately if you wish. I will check the General forum regularily.

I have a Espar D12L (25-1470) installed on my boat. I was able to repair by swapping in parts from another D12L unit. I am having difficulty finding replacement parts:

Espar p/n 25.1480.40.00.00 - P/N 2455RC75 / Elmwood / Thermal cutoff (fig # 6)
Espar p/n 201-00-144 - P/N 2-5700-IG9-P10 /E.T.A/ 28A circuit breaker (Fig #49)

Do you know a good source for these parts? I would also like to make up a "cruising kit" of parts that are likely to need replacing.

Thanks
Jason

Good day . Brian here from Roton Industries in Vancouer Canada. The breaker can be replaced with a 30 amp Blue Sea push button resettable breaker. The thermal cutoff switch is still available from your local Espar dealer. However in my 16 years of servicing Espars, I have only ever replaced the overheat swithch once, in hundreds of D7l/D12l repairs. It never goes, but the .4 amp overheat breaker does get weak and go for no reason. They are also still available. I don't have the part # as I am at home now, but it will be in the part manual. It is the breaker next to the glow plug, usually under a rubber accordian boot. If it is popping, experiment first by removing all ducting from the heater and run it long enough for it to get to full operating temp. If the breaker still pops, it 99% the breaker. It can be very intermittent. If it does not pop, then it could be the ducting, crushed or dented, or dust in the air intake grill. Sometimes a round wire mesh where the intake draws from the cabin, it does not take too much dust to bring the temp up. If you have a dog or cat on board, it does not take too long to build up.